Our Staff

Administration

andrewsphoto

FCITL AwardPrincipal : Brian Andrews

 Email Mr. Andrews 

Blog - Principal's Page

Brian J. Andrews is the Principal of Lawton Chiles Middle Academy in Lakeland, Florida, where there is a Commitment to Excellence each and every day.  He was awarded the Innovative Principal of the Year Award, an honor presented by the Florida Council of Instructional Technology Leaders (FCITL).  Mr. Andrews received his BA in English Literature and his MS in Education from Hofstra University in NY. Proudly in his 22nd year of public education, he has served as English teacher and administrator.  

 

His Family Tree comprises mostly of educators, from his grandfather (retired Superintendent of Schools), mother (retired Principal), and brothers (Principal and Assistant Superintendent of Schools). He loves to spend any and all of his free time  with his wife and two children...and two German Shepherd dogs at home.

“Is it good for kids?” is the proverbial question Mr. Andrews always asks. He firmly believes if this remains the focus, despite the myriad of challenges faced in education, our students will be prepared for satisfaction and success in life.

 

Assistant Principal : Angela Price

 Email Mrs. Price

Angela Price is the Assistant Principal of Lawton Chiles Middle Academy. She received her Bachelor’s degree in Elementary Education and her first MS degree in Collaborative Teaching & Learning from Florida Southern College. Mrs. Price went on to obtain her second MS in Educational Leadership at Southeastern University. She has experience from elementary to high school as well as leading professional development for teachers and administrators.

Homegrown in Polk County, Mrs. Price deeply cares for this community and is committed to the idea that everyone has an integral part to play in making our world a better place. She enjoys spending her free time with her husband and two children and travels with family and friends as often as she can.

Mrs. Price believes that every person on campus should give their best every day! This will lead to a sense of accomplishment and help our LCMA family reach common goals.

 

Academic Dean : Michael Simpson

 Email Mr. Simpson

Michael Simpson is the Academic Dean of Lawton Chiles Middle Academy. He earned a Bachelor’s Degree in English: Creative Writing/Poetry in 2007 from Florida Southern College and a Master’s Degree in Educational Leadership from NOVA Southeastern in 2016. He has worked within Polk County Schools since 2009 – spending the entirety of his teaching career in middle schools.

During his free time, Mr. Simpson enjoys adventuring with his wife and daughter.

Mr. Simpson goes by an education philosophy that risks are meant to be taken. Frank Herbert penned in his novel Dune, "I must not fear. Fear is the mind-killer. Fear is the little-death that brings total obliteration." Fear, in education, leads to a lack of innovation. A lack of innovation leads to stagnation for both staff and students. It is Mr. Simpson’s belief that the educational process should always be pushed in new directions; sometimes those directions won't work, but we wouldn’t know if we didn’t try. We should always keep pushing to see what new opportunities exist.

 

 

Faculty by Subject

Language & Literature

Erin Lavelle

Language & Lit - Gr. 7 & 8

 Class Website

 erin.lavelle@polk-fl.net

Kathy McDaniel

Language & Lit - Gr. 7

  Class Website

  kathy.mcdaniel@polk-fl.net

Stephanie Narramore

Language & Lit - Gr. 6 & 7

  Class Website

  stephanie.narramore@polk-fl.net

Sarah Tobias

Language & Lit - Gr. 8

 Class Website

  sarah.tobias@polk-fl.net

Amy Whitehurst

Language & Lit – Gr. 7 & 8

  Class Website

 amy.whitehurst@polk-fl.net

Math

Michelle DiGioia

Math - Gr. 6 - 8

 Class Website

   michelle.digioia@polk-fl.net

Amanda Gates

Math - Gr. 7

   Class Website

  amanda.gates@polk-fl.net

Gretchen Julius

Math - Gr. 7 & 8

  Class Website

  gretchen.julius@polk-fl.net

Jill Smith

Math - Gr. 6

  Class Website

 jill.smith03@polk-fl.net

Joy Wolfahrt

Math - Gr. 6 & 7

  Class Website

 joy.wolfahrt@polk-fl.net

Science

George Bartuska

Science - Gr. 7 & 8

  Class Website

  george.bartuska@polk-fl.net

Shannon Butler

Science - Gr. 7

  Class Website

  shannon.butler@polk-fl.net

Jon Coombs

Science - Gr. 6 & 7

  Class Website

  jon.coombs@polk-fl.net

Therese Gibson

Science - Gr. 8

  Class Website

  therese.gibson@polk-fl.net

Allison Sitta

Science - Gr. 6

  Class Website

  allison.sitta@polk-fl.net

Individuals & Societies (Social Studies)

Victoria “Toyi” Hall

Individuals & Societies - Gr. 7

  Class Website

  victoria.hall@polk-fl.net

Trevor Markham

Individuals & Societies - Gr. 6 & 7

  Class Website

 trevor.markham@polk-fl.net

Jonathan Rutledge

Individuals & Societies - Gr. 8

  Class Website

  jonathan.rutledge@polk-fl.net

Debbie Tregler

Individuals & Societies - Gr. 7 & 8

  Class Website

  deborah.tregler@polk-fl.net

Amera Wiseman

Individuals & Societies - Gr. 6

  Class Website

  amera.wiseman@polk-fl.net

Language Acquisition (Foreign Language)

Monica Barnett

Spanish - Gr. 7 & 8

  Class Website

  monica.barnett@polk-fl.net

Raquel Castillo

Spanish - Gr. 7 & 8

  Class Website

  raquel.castillo@polk-fl.net

Erin Chapman

Latin - Gr. 7 & 8

  erin.chapman@polk-fl.net

Caleb Colon

Spanish - Gr. 7 & 8

  Class Website

  caleb.colon@polk-fl.net

Veronica Guzman

Spanish - Gr. 6

  Class Website

  veronica.guzman@polk-fl.net

Leticia Patient

Spanish - Gr. 6 & 7

  Class Website

  leticia.patient@polk-fl.net

Electives

Christina Baker

Orchestra, Chorus, Guitar - Gr. 6 - 8

  Class Website

  christina.baker@polk-fl.net

Lesa Bland

Gifted & Enviro Symposium- Gr. 6 - 8

  Class Website

  lesa.bland@polk-fl.net

Beverly Brown

PE Coach - Gr. 6 - 8

  Class Website

  beverly.brown@polk-fl.net

Areti Clark

Art - Gr. 6 - 8

  Class Website

  areti.clark@polk-fl.net

Juan Debrand

PE Coach - Gr. 6 - 8

  Class Website

  juan.debrand@polk-fl.net

Pam Grimes

Reading – Gr. 6 - 8

  Class Website

  pamela.grimes@polk-fl.net

Jeanette Ferrell

ITV & Photography- Gr. 6 - 8

  Class Website

  jeanette.ferrell@polk-fl.net

Steven Jones

Creative Writing & Drama - Gr. 6 - 8

  Class Website

  steven.jones@polk-fl.net

Susan MacDonald

Emerging Tech - Gr. 6 - 8 & Media Specialist

  Class Website

  susan.macdonald@polk-fl.net

Michael McElwain

Band - Gr. 6 - 8

  Class Website

 michael.mcelwain@polk-fl.net

Design (Technology)

Alyssa McKee

Global Tech - Gr. 6 & 8

 8th grade Class Website

 6th grade Class Website

  alyssa.mckee@polk-fl.net

Reggie Patterson

Fab Lab - Gr. 6, 7, & 8

  Class Website

  reginald.patterson@polk-fl.net

Latoya Wiggins

Global Tech - Gr. 6 & 7

Class Website

  latoya.wiggins@polk-fl.net

Guidance

Elaine Chilson

Guidance Counselor, Students A-K

  elaine.chilson@polk-fl.net

Victoria Hunt

Guidance Counselor, Students L-Z

  victoria.hunt@polk-fl.net

Office

Yvonne Abram

Main Office & Attendance Secretary

 yvonne.abram@polk-fl.net

Carol Baker

Principal’s Secretary

  carol.baker@polk-fl.net

Janet Hughes

Guidance Secretary

 janet.hughes@polk-fl.net

LeAnn Stalvey

School Nurse

 teri.stalvey@polk-fl.net 

Support Staff

Shelly Fountain

Gifted Resource

  shelly.fountain@polk-fl.net

Shelly Gerber

ESE Facilitator

 shelly.gerber@polk-fl.net

Jennifer Goleno

Testing Coordinator

  jennifer.goleno@polk-fl.net

Donna Haas

School Nutrition Manager

 donna.haas@polk-fl.net

Susie Kallan

IB MYP Coordinator

  http://susiekallanlcma.weebly.com/

  susie.kallan@polk-fl.net

Heather Lilly

Network Manager & Tech Coordinator

  heather.lilly@polk-fl.net

Susan MacDonald

Media Specialist   Class Website

  susan.macdonald@polk-fl.net

Zoraida Rodriguez

ELL Paraeducator

 zoraida.rodriguez@polk-fl.net

Jessica Rogers

Front Office Paraeducator

  jessica.rogers@polk-fl.net